Kindle Cover

After going back and forth about purchasing an e-reader, I finally settled on a Kindle Touch.  As a student, I have been purchasing my college textbooks from Amazon.com for the last 7 years, on an Amazon.com credit card, which had enough points to cover half of the Kindle.

I found this pattern on Pinterest: http://haramisdesigns.wordpress.com/2010/11/01/kindle-sleeve-pattern/ and loved how it looked.  I’ve never worked with cables, so I figured this would be a great starting project.  In my yarn stash, I had a lot of Cascade’s Quatro yarn in ‘Cameo’ (purchased because my younger sister’s name is Cameo).  I figured, why not?  Cast on!

The actual size of the sleeve when you are knitting it is MUCH smaller than the width of the kindle.   Thankfully, Haramis Knits provided enough pictures to make me feel better about my super skinny Kindle sleeve and it’s ability to hold my kindle.

I definitely got to try out my new Knit Picks Interchangeable Needles sampler set I had ordered with this project.  I love them!  I’m starting to really enjoy working with circular needles, even using them on projects that require straight needles.  Anyway, back to my project – I loved how the Kindle sleeve turned out:

The button I found at Jo-Ann fabrics.  I wanted to make sure I found a button with a back that wouldn’t scratch the Kindle if it was in my purse.

Leave a Reply

