August 2012 Birchbox

Since I posted last month’s Birchbox review waaaaay too late, I figured I’d get this one up ASAP!  And, as a side note, I’m munching on a Larabar that I bought after I tried the sample in last month’s box – so delish!

I got my box on Wednesday, and I’m a little disappointed with it.  First, I only received 4 samples and a bonus, which felt like a little bit of a let down.  Then the samples I did receive were average.

First was the Schick Hydro Silk Razor.  This was the bonus item, and while razors are great, I’m pretty sure most women own a razor.  I have one, I love it, I don’t plan on changing it.  I actually bought the Schick Hydro Silk Razor when I was moving because I couldn’t find my regular razor, and I was not impressed with it.  So now I have an extra razor that I already own.

Next up was the Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream.  I used it and I wasn’t a huge fan of the smell.  But I have seen it at Sephora, so I figure I’ll use it then judge it.

I also got Caldrea Hand Soap samples.  I was not excited about these.  I haven’t tried them yet, but when I opened the box and saw them, it was one of those, “really, I got a sample of hand soap” moments.  Maybe it’s because I don’t spend $11 on hand soap – I buy Method ones at Target and love them.  I mean, I have them, so I will try them.

Then there was the perfume sample, Juicy Couture Viva la Juicy La Fleur.  While I like this scent, I just bought perfume last month.  I already own way too many perfumes, and probably enough sample sized perfumes to last me a year.  While sometimes its nice to have perfume, I hope they stop sending me perfume samples.

The winner of the box was stila smudge stick waterproof eye liner.  This one I am planning on purchasing.  I am in love.  I have it in black, but its not your typical black – it has sparkles in it, but not in an over-the-top way – more of a subtle sparkle.  I don’t think its very waterproof, but I’m happy with it nonetheless and will be buying this in the near future.

So while this box wasn’t a complete win, I did find an awesome new eyeliner.  I am going to keep getting it – hopefully next month’s box is AWESOME!

Get your own Birchbox by clicking here!

Leave a Reply

